Tuesday, October 19, 2010

Governor Granholm to Receive Swedish Order of the Polar Star

This is cool. And quite the honor.

Governor Jennifer M. Granholm on Thursday will be recognized by His Majesty King Carl XVI Gustaf with Sweden's Insignia of First Commander, Order of the Polar Star for her work in fostering relations between Michigan and Sweden to promote a clean energy economy. The honor will be bestowed on the governor at the Royal Palace in Stockholm during an afternoon ceremony.

"In our pursuit to diversify Michigan's economy and create jobs we have forged a strong and fruitful relationship with Sweden, a country known for its leadership in clean energy," Granholm said. "Our mutual work to use clean energy technologies to create jobs is having a dramatic effect and so this award recognizes not just me, but everyone who is committed to making Michigan a leader in the clean energy economy."

His Majesty King Carl XVI Gustaf will present Granholm with the honor at the Royal Palace in Stockholm, the king's official residence. Among those scheduled to witness the ceremony will be U.S. Ambassador to Sweden Matthew Barzun, the governor's parents Victor and Shirley Granholm, Swedish Consul General for Michigan Lennart Johansson, and Greg Main, President and CEO of the Michigan Economic Development Corporation.

The Order of the Polar Star was created in 1798 and is now awarded to foreigners and members of the Swedish royal family for services to Sweden.

About the award:

The Order of the Polar Star (Swedish Nordstjärneorden) is a Swedish order of chivalry created by King Frederick I of Sweden on 23 February 1748, together with the Order of the Sword and the Order of the Seraphim.

The Order of the Polar Star was until 1975 intended as a reward for Swedish and foreign "civic merits, for devotion to duty, for science, literary, learned and useful works and for new and beneficial institutions".

Its motto is, as seen on the blue enameled centre of the badge, Nescit Occasum. This is Latin and means "it knows no decline". This is to prove that Sweden is as constant as a never setting star. The Order's colour is black. This was chosen so that when wearing the black sash, the white, blue and golden cross would stand out and shine as the light of enlightenment from the black surface. Women and clergy men are not called knight or commander but simply as Member (Ledamot).

After the reorganization of the orders in 1975 the order is only awarded to foreigners and members of the royal family. It is often awarded to foreign office holders (such as Prime and Senior Ministers) during Swedish state visits.

There are five degrees to the Order, Commander Grand Cross is the highest followed by Insignia of First Commander, which the Governor will receive.

Hope someone gets some video!